Monday, 1 November 2010

2 addl judges appointed

BLHouse Report
Two new additional judges were appointed to the High Court Division of the Supreme Court yesterday.

According to article 98 of the Constitution, President Md Zillur Rahman appointed them for two years.

They are: Deputy Attorney General Nazrul Islam Talukder and former Deputy Attorney General Farid Ahmed.

Their appointments will be effective from the day of taking oath of office.

The president also made two additional judges of the HC permanent. They are: Justice AKM Abdul Hakim and Justice Borhanuddin.

They were appointed as additional judges of the HC in November 2008.

They were appointed as additional judges of the HC for two years on November 12 during the past caretaker government.

Along with the two judges, four other additional judges were also appointed to the HC Division in 2008.

The four are: Justice Md Delwar Hossain, Justice Md Azizul Haque, Justice Md Abdus Samad and Justice Syeda Afsar Jahan.

The number of the judges of the HC now stands at 92, sources said.

The Awami League-led grand alliance government, after assuming office,  has so far appointed 38 judges to the HC Division of SC.

No comments:

Post a Comment