Thursday, 9 December 2010

HC gets four new judges

BLHouse Report

Four additional judges were appointed to the High Court Division of the Supreme Court yesterday (December 9).

According to Article 98 of the Constitution, President Md Zillur Rahman made the appointments for two years from the day of taking their oath.

The newly appointed four additional judges are: Bhabani Prashad Singh, District Judge on leave prior to retirement (LPR), M Anwarul Haque, Secretary to the Law and Justice Division of the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Md Akram Hossain Chowdhury, Deputy Attorney General and Md Ashraful Kamal, lawyer of the Supreme Court.

Their appointments will come into effect on the day of taking oath.

Law and Justice Division of the Law Ministry issued a notification in this regard.

With the appointments, the number of the judges of the High Court stands at 94. After taking office, Bangladesh Awami League-led Grand alliance appointed so far 42 judges to the HC Division of the SC.

No comments:

Post a Comment