Sunday, 23 January 2011

5-judge body to probe graft in judiciary

Chief Justice ABM Khairul Haque on Sunday set up a five-judge probe committee to find out corrupt people in the judiciary, aiming to remove harassment of people.

Justice SK Sinha, a judge of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, will lead the team.

The other four judges are from the High Court Division of the apex court. They included Justice Md Anwarul Haque, Justice AKM Fazlur Rahman, Justice Mayeenul Islam Chowdhury and Justice Hasan Faiz Siddiqui.

A high official at the highest court of the country told The Daily Star that the committee will place its report to the chief justice.

The chief justice in a meeting last week with the judges from both the Appellate and High Court divisions decided to firm the committee.

The decision came after a Supreme Court body formed earlier to evaluate a household survey report by the Transparency International, Bangladesh (TIB) told the meeting that it could not give any specific information about the corruption.

The Bangladesh chapter of the Transparency International had showed in its report that the judiciary is the most corrupt sector in the country.
The Daily Star

No comments:

Post a Comment