Tuesday, 14 December 2010

Four judges taken oath, SCBA boycotted oath taking ceremony

BLHouse Report

The Chief Justice yesterday (December 12) administered oath to newly appointed four additional judges of the High Court Division of the Supreme Court.

The additional judges are: Bhabani Prashad Singh, District Judge on leave prior to retirement (LPR), M Anwarul Haque, Secretary to the Law and Justice Division of the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Md Akram Hossain Chowdhury, Deputy Attorney General and Md Ashraful Kamal, lawyer of the Supreme Court

On December 9, President Md Zillur Rahman appointed them as additional judges of the HC Division for two years from the day of taking their oath, according to Article 98 of the Constitution.

The new judges sworn in at about 10:30am at the SC's Judges' Lounge, where Judges of the Appellate Division and the High Court Division and the Registrar of the SC were present.

Meanwhile, the leaders of the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) boycotted the oath taking ceremony stating that the appointments were made without framing any rules to do so.

The bar has been raising voice and demanding for long to make a transparent framework for appointing persons as judges of the Supreme Court.

SCBA President Khandker Mahbub Hossain, at a press conference at his office in the SC, said that due to not having the rules of appointing judges, many controversial persons were being appointed as judges of the apex court.

SCBA Secretary Barrister Badruddoza Badol was present at the press conference.

The bar president warned of launching movement, if the rules were not made.

Earlier, the judges were appointed after consulting with the SCBA president and secretary, but the bar was not consulted in appointing the four judges, Khandker Mahbub said.

The SCBA President requested the Chief Justice not to comment generally over corruption of the lower courts' judges, rather to identify the corrupt persons and bring them into book.

No comments:

Post a Comment